17 Comments

eM Client Recover Your Passwords

At the moment most of the advice surrounding recovering your password from eM Client is using a piece of software costing around $49. Through perseverance and a tight budget I was able to recover my forgotten password without forking out for the software.

Here’s how I did it.

Finding the files

The first thing I did was to find where the application stored all of it’s files.

My first thoughts were that they would be stored along side the executables and libraries within the ‘Program Files’ or ‘Program Files (x86)’ folders.

My next thought was that they would be stored within the User’s AppData folders, and after a quick search they were found to be located in the Roaming Folder. For me this was:

C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\eM Client\

Files, Files Everywhere but which one do I need?

Now that I had found the files, it was a “simple” case of working out which one I needed to look at to find my password.

I initially looked for a file called accounts or users or something along those lines, upon searching through the folder and not finding any of these I was drawn to my next instinct; a file called ‘main.dat’.

I opened it in Notepad, thinking that it would probably only contain the settings and preferences for the application and nothing else useful. I could not have been more wrong.

My first surprise was the format of the file was in SQLite Format 3, good sign. A few lines further down I noticed that there was an SQL statement defining a table called AccountUIDs, which contained field referencing the Accounts table.

Hallelujah! I had found the right file.

The Needle in a HayStack

Now I had the right file finding the password was a, relatively, straight forward process with a simple answer: Search.

Using the Find function within notepad I began searching for my email address. I found a number of matches, relating to email signatures, contacts and calendar settings. Then I found one result near to a some text ‘MailClient.Accounts.ArchivingScope’, so I decided to explore the text around it.

A looked a few characters over and there was my password in all it’s cleartext beauty.

Hey Presto! Password recovered!

Summary

In short follow these simple steps:

  1. Open the file ‘C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\main.dat’ in Notepad or other text editor
  2. Search in the file for the text ‘MailClient.Accounts.ArchivingScope’
  3. Look for your email address and password in the text following

17 comments on “eM Client Recover Your Passwords

  1. Thank you so much for sharing. Saved my day! (and 49$)

  2. Just want to add my appreciation, too. Great work!

  3. Thank you very much dude, you saved me a lot of work!!!

  4. Thanks to share this ! Really usefull !

  5. Wanted to say thank you as well. This really helped me out. Thanks

  6. Thank you for this, really helpful !

  7. Thank you so much, saved me some Frustration as BT are a secure lot 🙂

  8. I Need to thank you too ….

  9. At least one remark: I use emClient 7, there the Information are not stored in MAIN.DAT but ACCOUNTS.DAT
    May be it’s due to the fact that I use the paid Version with more than two addresses.

  10. thank you so very much, this was a huge help to my daughter who depends upon eM Client to work from home.

  11. Also in version 7 in accounts but cannot find the password 😦

    • Hi Jennifer, thanks for your comment.

      I haven’t updated this document in quite a while so am not sure how things have changed. As per isolde’s comment above, have you checked in ACCOUNTS.DAT?

      I will download the latest version of eM Client and see if I can help you further.

  12. afk,
    I have 7.1.33101.0 same issue
    thank you in advance

  13. I run version 7.2.3xxx and passwords don’t show in either main.dat or account.dat.
    I got mine for free by executing eM Client Password Decryptor, which I got here:
    https://securityxploded.com/emclient-password-decryptor.php
    1. Install it
    2. Run it
    3. Just click on ‘Start recovery’ and voilà!
    Thanks to whoever made that tool available for free 🙂 They have a pro version but the free one worked out well the only time I used it.
    If you prefer to keep on searching locally, you might have to go through all .dat files in the a.m. folder. This password *must* indeed be stored locally.
    Or maybe ask straight from eM support?
    Thanks for this thread anyway!

  14. I am using version 9.2, and purchased several password recovery softwares including this one: https://www.top-password.com/asterisk-password-recovery.html. All of them don’t work. It seems that eM client doesn’t save the email passwords locally any longer.

Leave a comment